Daily Info, Oxford on Twitter Daily Information, Oxford on Facebook
Place Ad List Event Mobile Site Map FAQ Log In
 
Ads Events Reviews Venues Site
Send to a Friend

Verde Pizzeria & Trattoria

Submit your own review

Listed in Restaurants and Cafés

Italian-style venue offering handmade, authentic pizza and pasta.
Opening hours: Mon-Sat 11.45am-10.30pm, Sun 11.45am-10pm. Wheelchair friendly. Wifi access available.
Cuisine: Italian / Pizza.

Take-away availableGood wheelchair/buggy access
212 Cowley Road
Oxford
OX4 1UQ

Cowley Road Area
Mon-Sat 11.45am-10.30pm, Sun 11.45am-10pm
Telephone: 01865 246222

Map


picture of Verde Pizzeria & Trattoria

Ads by Daily Info:

Modern Art Oxford - one of the UK's leading contemporary art spaces, in the centre of Oxford

Puncture? No problem! While-you-wait repairs £16.95 inc tea or coffee at BikeZone

The Corridor, 119 Cowley Road, Oxford - come for a drink, stay for the party

How to advertise here....



 
Ads Events Reviews Venues Site
Latest venue reviews

Dosa Park: Great authentic South Indian food. Very good quality and fantastic taste....read more

Taylors Deli (Summertown): Nice food but it is the most frustrating place! It's just taken over 20...read more

1855: We first visited here earlier this year - purely by chance as we were passing...read more

Jimbob's Baguettes: I love this place so much. I never come away disappointed! The staff are...read more


Own this venue?

Advertise your special promotions on this page!

Free up to a month, special benefits for £2.50/week. Find out more...

Oxford Offers

Reviews of Verde Pizzeria & Trattoria

We have visited Verde 5 times in the last 3 months and have eaten there again this evening. The food is always really fresh and full of flavour. We have not been disappointed and the children love it too. The staff are always so helpful and polite. Excellent food and service!

 

Preet (Unverified), 16/07/12


I have eaten twice at Verde and both times I have had a great experience. Fresh ingredients, combined with a good choice of dishes, makes this a winner for Italian food down the Cowley Road. Additionally, their salad is not just iceberg lettuce, but a real mixture of goodness! Try it!

Olive (Unverified), 20/06/12


We went as a family on a bank holiday, we picked it as it had some promising reviews on various websites. The place was not busy, but the interior was nice and the atmosphere not spoilt by the lack of people.

The food was average at best, my husband's veal was over cooked and chewy and my seafood pasta did not set the world alight, on the plus side the house wine was drinkable. My son had the pizza, which he polished off and as he does not like ice cream that the kids get offered for dessert, was very happy with a handful of lolly pops from the waitress. I ordered the tiramasu for dessert, was not great, too much cream and not enough of anything else.

Overall it's an average, but child friendly restaurant, it's one of the few places that my son is happy to sit and eat in, so we shall probably go back & hope that our next meal is better.

NCP (DI User), 21/04/12


Been here twice in the last month and on both occasions the food was immense. We eat out at least once a week and this now has to be one of my favourites. The staff are friendly and welcoming, I am taking my brothers and sisters next week and I'm sure they will love it as much as I did!

Leanne (Unverified), 11/04/12


I like Verde, and particularly their 2 for £10 pizza offer. Shame it doesn't extend to 3 for £15!

Hawkins (Unverified), 28/01/12


We came last night with the children and had a lovely meal. We have visited many times now as the food is always cooked with lovely fresh ingredients and tastes good. Havent been disappointed yet! The staff are always so friendly and helpful.

Shush (Unverified), 30/12/11


We have just had the best evening at Verde! We went with our two children for my husband's birthday. The food was excellent, the service fab and all together we were made to feel very special and welcome.

I would highly recommend a trip there!

Henrietta (Unverified), 13/12/11


We visit here regularly and have never been disappointed. We have tried most of the dishes, all have been delicious. Staff always friendly and helpful. We'll be back many more times.

Neil C (Unverified), 10/11/11


We had our first visit to Verde last night - 4 adults and 1 baby arriving mid-bonfire night for dinner. We had booked and asked for a table with space for a buggy and they were expecting us and had provided a suitable table. They also brought a little clip on highchair suitable for a 5mo old which was very pleasing. Atmosphere was very nice - it was busy but not too loud or hot.

Food: Calamari was enjoyed by two of the party - not oily, crisp, with nice mayo - generally well appreciated. We tried the spaghetti carbonara (pronounced delicious), salmon+courgette linguine (good), gnocchi sorentina (very rich tasty sauce with good portion size) and a 4 cheese pizza (fantastic). Generally we all thought the food was excellent and value for money (starters about £5, mains £7-10). We didn't try any puddings as were full, but those arriving at other tables looked very good.

Service: Slightly over attentive, but that is better that completely ignoring us!

Will definitely be visiting again.

becky (Unverified), 06/11/11


The wine was good, but that was all.

Jamie (Unverified), 01/11/11


My husband and I ate in this particular restaurant last Friday, 16 September 2011. It was our first time eating there and I have to say, it was fabulous. The food was absolutely delicious and the manager and his staff could not have been more helpful. They had a large party of people but still found time and patience to speak with and make a fuss of everybody else whom was eating there.

I felt I had to write this review as my husband and I go out to eat on a regular basis and it made such a pleasant change to go to a completely new restaurant for us and have the experience we had.

Marie (Unverified), 30/09/11


A brilliant dining experience, from start to finish. We came to Verde on a whim as we were looking for a decent Italian and were not disappointed. The food was simple and wonderful, the staff were friendly without exception, and the value for money is unsurpassed on the Cowley Road. We were both delighted that the restaurant owner came and spoke to us at length - what a welcoming and enthusiastic reception! I will definitely be visiting Verde again, as well as telling everyone I know to go there.

Kamozi (DI User), 26/09/11


We visited this restaurant last week. My wife and I both ordered veals cooked differently. I cannot remember what these dishes were called but they were simply delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this place. The menu has reasonably priced items and the wine list is impressive. The service was superb.

Oxonian (Unverified), 16/09/11


I would like to commend Verde Italian restaurant in Cowley, Oxford for a special evening we spent there on Sunday. The highlight of the evening was the guitar playing by a young Oxford guitarist Dave Seck. I understand that he is a regular on Sunday evenings. The food also was fantastic. I can highly recommend the “pollo Milanese” which was extremely tasty. When my wife requested the same dish but with veal, it was produced with no fuss and with a smile. The staff were eager to please and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. The good food, lovely musical entertainment at a very reasonable price makes this an ideal place to spend your Sunday evening. Thank you.

Pollusc (Unverified), 06/09/11


What a fabulous Italian restaurant Verde is. We suggest you to try, risotto frutti di mare and the sea bass on spaghetti is absolutely incredible. If you have room for sweet you should try their omemade Zucotto. Great service and very reasonable prices.

marcus (Unverified), 15/08/11


We went here for lunch yesterday and it was really disappointing. The pizza was not worthy of a real pizzeria. Terrible sauce and toppings. Oddly quite nice dough. My friend I both left our pizza half uneaten and my girlfriend's pasta sauce tasted bland.

Patrick (Unverified), 03/07/11


Verde...mixed feelings about this place. I have eaten here twice and taken out once. The food has been nice and the gluten free pasta is great for someone with coeliac disease. However, it would be better if the staff were more clued up on gluten. It is very un-nerving to hear a waitress reply "it has no flour in it" when you ask if something is gluten free, because for those of you who aren't familiar with coeliac disease, gluten comes in many different forms other than flour. For example, I had to return the pudding because they had sprinkled Cadbury's hot chocolate on it which has gluten in. This is a simple mistake but could be catastrophic for a coeliac. Anyway, enough of that rant.

Other than that, the staff were friendly and the service was quick and the ingredients mostly seemed fresh and were very appetizing. I agree with strange_hawk about the size variety available on the wines, good idea.

face (Unverified), 22/03/11


I've eaten at Verde twice in as many weeks now, the second time coming back with friends after the first was so good. Again, it was a really great meal, incredibly reasonably priced given the quality of the food, and we had a thoroughly good evening.

I'm amazed at some of the negative views here - the service each time could not have been nicer: genuine, friendly and super-helpful. And some of their dishes are really exceptionally good - the seafood linguine I had twice as it was they best I've ever eaten (I really wasn't expecting something so well cooked with such great ingredients for £8.65 - go 5 minutes further into town and I'd expect to pay £12.65 for lesser).

The puddings are big and exceptionally nice - particularly the Venetian caramel custard, the tiramisu, the chocolate mousse... £4.50 but easily sharable - although that would take a degree of self control!

I liked that you can order wine in 125ml glasses as well as larger, and can't recommend this highly enough - the fairly mediocre exterior doesn't do justice to the quality of cooking, which is now my favourite Italian in Oxford.

(As a note the menu options to change pizza bases/pasta to wholewheat seem a little of an overstretch - with this quality of cooking I'd suggest that they just refine their great dishes, include an equally well-conceived wholewheat option and add it to the menu. I can see that now organic isn't an option, but just a standard quality for major ingredients, which is much easier and clearer.)

strange_hawk (Unverified), 09/02/11


What a lovely place, honest and simply great food at very good prices. The student discounts are better than anywhere else we go to.

I think it's the best italian restaurant on Cowley area.

Anon28/01/11


Went here through necessity as our favourite pizza place is having a refit and was closed. I'm sorry to say it was appalling. Staff seemed bored, place was nearly empty and our pizza was terrible. The wine was cheap tasting and very expensive and the organic ingredients are for effect as it's only a few items in a meal. It's really not very good - reminds me of a typical chain restaurant that's spent a fortune on the dining room and nothing on the staff or food. Won't be returning - I hope our favourite restaurant reopens quickly...!

David (Unverified), 06/10/10


We visited this place, thinking that it was Carne. But to our disappointment, it is now an Italian restaurant. We decided to give it a try. Not only did the restaurant (Carne) disappear, but also the friendly staff. After trying the food here, we have decided that we will not come back here and even if it requires us to travel till city center, might as well do that, than wasting money here. The food is overpriced and the quality is poor. The interiors are good, but it only comes second in priority and the quality of food is bad, which is first priority.

Rose (Unverified), 26/09/10


Average food, oversized large portions poor in taste, prepared with cheap ingredients. Staff appeared not to be surprised when I asked why the food was taking so long in a very empty restaurant. The reviews below from the three couples were not at all what we experienced. To sum up our first and last visit, very showy restaurant all talk and no substance.

Will (Unverified), 15/09/10


Last night me and my brothers were going out to celebrate and wanted somewhere special with a relaxed and happy atmosphere and of course great food! Well we all love Italian and so we choose the newly opened restaurant Verde!

As soon as we walked into the spacious and lovely bar area, we were not disappointed! There to great us with a huge warm and welcoming smile was the manager, instantly he made us feel so at home as we chatted and laughed and he asked us were we would like to sit. The Restaurant has a wonderful warm feel, beautifully decorated in deep reds and Italian rich greens and a beautiful marble floor.

We were all so excited it took us ages to order, our waitress was so kind and patient and helping us with our order. We had some of the best red Sicilian wine I have ever tasted, it was like drinking heavenly nectar so smooth and fruity, accompanying this we had pizzas, the 'Verde Special' is to die for, pesto, parma ham, tarragon, cheese on a perfectly light soft thin pizza base. Mmm, yummmy. For afters I had a rich Arametto chocolate mousse, new to the menu and fantastically rich and creamy, finished off with a flaming grappa and fresh Italian coffee, what a night we had, we laughed and ate and drank, we had photos taken and had the time of our lives!

So I recommend wholeheartedly if you are looking for fresh home made fantastic food made by happy and relaxed chefs in an atmosphere that is warm and friendly and peaceful were you will feel part of a family then what are you waiting for? Go and try the "Verde' experience -you will not be disappointed! Thank you so much to all the staff and chefs and management at Verde for making our night so special! Keep up the great work.

Martin (Unverified), 15/09/10


We visited Verde with our friends last week (formerly Carne the Brazilian restaurant and now under new ownership) and had a friendly welcome by an enthusiastic new owner. We had the calamari, which was lovely and so light - very well cooked, followed by the swordfish, which was very flavoursome and a good sized portion and the mushroom risotto – just the right consistency - absolutely delicious, followed by chocolate brownies and cheesecake - nice choice of yummy puds! The waiting staff were again very friendly, polite and helpful although still a little green with learning exactly what was on the menu. The team were very accommodating with our variations to the menu options and made our evening out a very pleasant experience. Good food at reasonable prices – will definitely be going again.

Julie & Tony (DI User), 14/09/10


Four of us visited Verde Pizzeria yesterday and I was honestly very impressed. The quality of food was very good, the preparation and presentation was impressive and the service, from all staff, was of a very high standard. A very relaxed and freindly atmosphere suitable for friends and famililes alike. Reasonably priced and well worth a trip. My suggestion is try is once as you will be very glad you did (we will certainly be making a return journey - very soon!)

Jackie & Graham (Unverified), 27/08/10


We visited Verde restaurant yesterday evening and I just wanted to say, by way of encouragement to this new restaurant, how much we enjoyed our meal. We both especially enjoyed the combination of flavours in our main courses (they have a particularly good pesto), everything was well-cooked and the salads were crisp, fresh and tasty. The service was very good as well. They also do a lunch special for only £5.95 so we will definitely go back for more.

Joseph and Debbie (Unverified), 26/08/10


Verde's Pizzeria offers an excellent experience for all lovers of Italian food. I'm a student and feel that it offers a lovely alternative to the hussle and bussle of its surroundings in Cowley Road, and the relaxed staff really add to the good atmosphere inside. The food is delicious and good value too. 10/10

Anon24/08/10


Two words - not bothered. Was curious to try this new Italian as there is such an established pizzeria just up the road (one of my faves) and I wanted to see if it really competes or whether the owners were punching above their weight somewhat. With mixed emotions I can definitely say it's the latter. Surely to open a restaurant of the sane genre very close to an established one is hospitality suicide unless you differentiate! Stand out from the crowd? In their defence the food was passable, and the chef has obviously done this before but is that enough? It's a new place. Perhaps it will improve and I've judged too soon but in my opinion, I'd rather spend my hard earned cash elsewhere.

Fishbar (Unverified), 23/08/10


Very bad meal here, I would not recommend you visit. I would not normally bother to write but I am really dismayed at this place.

Firstly we ordered the mussels to share, for just short of £10 I expected a dish to share, it was very disappointing and the quality of the rubbery overcooked mussels beggared belief, as was the very English bread. Still, on to the main event.

For mains I ordered the "organic" pizza base and after I politely asked the barman or waiter, I was told quite rudely that the items that are organic are listed and the ones that are not, are not. So despite me having to pay the extra charge, I was not served an organic pizza at all, just a bit of it. My pizza with organic wholewheat flour was overcooked and tasteless and the toppings were piled high that just caused a sloppy mess.

My partner ordered the chicken dish, Verde's Chicken at a very pricey £12. The chicken (free range) was nuked into something that certainly no longer resembled chicken and guess what, the pancetta and cheap mozzarella was not free range. The green leaves were organic, but the peppers, pesto and rubbish chips were not - seeing a pattern here.

In short, there are much much better places to enjoy Italian food on the Cowley Rd, this place is taking the mickey. It’s not free range, it’s not organic and it’s not very good.

Disappointed Foodie (Unverified), 19/08/10


Cowley Road’s newest Italian has the clean, cavernous feel of a good, cheap and cheerful family restaurant, and this seems to be the market it’s aiming at. The menu, scattered with organic dishes and wines, initially promises much, but in spite of the stab at making an upmarket impression, the emphasis doesn’t seem to be on high quality or authentic ingredients, but on generous portions of affordable food.

We shared bruschetta and antipasti for starters; both were fresh, tasty and pretty well-presented, though the bread was distinctly un-Italian - a bit disappointing in an area where you can’t step outside without falling over a regional delicatessen. Main courses were a bit mixed – the Spaghetti Bolognese was pretty good, suggesting that sympathetically-priced standards will be Verde’s strongpoint.

The staff, while very friendly and terribly helpful, somehow managed to give the impression of never having eaten in a restaurant, let alone worked in one. Alarm bells first began to sound when I was asked how I wanted my chicken cooked. In response to my slightly worried expression, the waiter helpfully offered ‘Medium? Well done?’ – though mercifully not ‘rare’. I opted for ‘well-done’, as you might. There was nothing at all wrong with the cuisson of the dish when it arrived, though slightly sadder were the two flabby rashers of smoked bacon nestling under a layer of mozzarella as a substitute for pancetta, and the extremely uniform chips. The chilli and red pepper sauce was full of flavour, however, and the salad once again fresh, with a good, subtle dressing. Our (very nice, slightly pricey) wine was poured, then gamely left on the table with the cork stuck in the neck, raising the faint ghost of a romantic first meal in a student house.

Pudding would have hit the spot if we had still been starving, but the emphasis was once again on size, and we were a bit over-faced by an unmanageable and highly flavoured Tiramisu. We finished up with a good espresso and a luke-warm mocha, and paid £65 for the lot.

This place seems to have the right - if rough and ready - attitude to service, and affordable, relaxed dining, and various mistakes are bound to get ironed out as they find their feet - but they’ll have to take a long hard look at the quality of their food if they want to find a niche in an area where diners are already spoilt for choice.

Susie Cogan (DI Staff), 03/08/10


Please fill in the boxes and then click "Preview" to submit your review for Verde Pizzeria & Trattoria

Type or paste the text of your review (10 - 300 words) in here:

If you want to sign your review with your Daily Info display name and have it come up in your user account then
(your review text should still be here when you come back).



Don’t have a Daily Info account? Get one here! (save your review text first!)

Or, if you don’t want a Daily Info account, we’ll need the following details:

Your nickname (which you would like others to see under your review):

Contact Details

These are for Daily Info staff use only - we might want to contact you if, for example, we want to add you to our official reviewer’s list (free tickets! Click here for more info).

We do not harvest data and will never pass your details on to anyone else for marketing purposes. Privacy policy.

Your name
and email
and/or phone number

Terms and Conditions. Go on, do read them, it’ll be nice.